Welcome one and all!

From the incredibly catchy title penned by yours truly, I think you can gather what this blog is about.

When I first got into classical music, information about composers and their music wasn’t very hard to find, from Wikipedia and Classic FM, to YouTube videos and documentaries. But it was all scattered, with stuff like Wikipedia being overkill as well as sometimes unreliable; *cough* Wolfgang Amadeus Beethoven *cough*. Working out where to start and what to listen to, or read, was difficult. How was I supposed to know whether such a performance of Beethoven’s Fifth was “authentic” or, more importantly, any good? The answer to that, largely, was that I didn’t. So that’s the first reason I’ve started this blog, to literally provide an introduction to the world of classical music and opera, aimed at anyone that wants to venture into it. And believe me when I say, if you have watched television or films, then you’ve listened to classical music and opera.

There’s also another reason for doing this, and that is the mental barriers towards this music. It’s seen as elitist, exclusive, and the reserve of the rich. Whilst these labels did carry some truth at one point, it isn’t the case anymore. I’ll go into a little more detail about all this in a sort of “mission statement”.

The basic format for this “Introduction to” series as a set of articles on certain composers. I won’t be writing one for every composer who ever lived, not sure there’s time in the world for that. Each article will contain brief biographical details and a few key works to get stuck into. Aside from that, I’ll upload the odd concert/cd review and some op-ed’s on my journey into classical music and opera.

I hope you find this series interesting, informative and hopefully even a broadening experience, listening to music that you might not have otherwise given much thought to. That goes for veteran classical music fans as well as newbies; music did not “end” with Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde! (you’ll see what I mean soon enough).

Happy listening all!

Dorian C. Marsden

 

Leave a Reply

